State laws

Is Weed Legal in Massachusetts?

Legalization Status
Recreational cannabis is legal for adults 21+; medical cannabis is legal for adults 18+ and minors with a caregiver.
Medical Documents Requirements
To participate in the Medical Use of Marijuana Program and receive a card, patients must obtain a certification from their healthcare provider based on qualifying medical conditions, then register with the state. Valid identification and photo ID are required.
Possession Limits
Cannabis users are permitted to carry up to 1 ounce; you’re allowed to have up to 10 ounces in your home. Patients who are qualified for medical cannabis (and who are approved by a physician and certified by the state) can possess up to a 60-day supply.
Home Growing Limitations
Adult residents are permitted to grow up to 6 plants at home for personal use; for two or more adults, up to 12 plants are permitted. Registered qualifying patients can apply for the Hardship Cultivation program, allowing them to grow cannabis to yield a 60-day supply for medical use.
Stay Informed

Sign-up for the perfect dose of cannabis

Our newsletter delivered right to your inbox. Sign-up for news, advice, product recommendations and more.

Get Started Today!

Cannabis is good. Get your medical cannabis card and explore how good it can be for you.

Learn More

What we've written about Massachusetts

Scroll to Top